No More Christian Nice Girl: Book Review

Be the Strong, Confident, and Caring Woman You Were Meant to Be

Tired of doing all you can for others while your relationships remain stuck in neutral–or headed in reverse? Paul Coughlin and psychologist Jennifer Degler show how being nice can harm you and drain the life out of your relationships. They explore the keys to fulfillment at home, work, church, and even in the bedroom. You’ll discover that emulating the real Jesus is the key to transforming from a Christian Nice Girl into an authentic, powerful woman of loving faith.

Paul Coughlin is an international speaker and hosts a radio talk show in southern Oregon. He is the author of No More Christian Nice Guy, Married But Not Engaged, and No More Jellyfish, Chickens or Wimps. Paul has been interviewed byNewsweek, Good Morning America, Nightline, C-SPAN, The New York Times, and The LA Times, among other media. His articles have appeared in many publications, including New Man, Faithworks, Today’s Christian, Today’s Christian Woman, and Ministries Today. He has also been editor of a weekly newspaper and a radio station program director. Paul is a happily married father, and is a contributor and blogger for Crosswalk.com. The Coughlin family lives in Medford, Oregon. Visit Paul’s website at PaulCoughlin.net.

Jennifer D. Degler, PhD, is a licensed psychologist and life coach. A frequent speaker at women’s events and marriage retreats, she also maintains a counseling practice, seeing adults, children, and couples for psychotherapy. She is a member of the American Association of Christian Counselors and the founder of Creating Christian Change, a life coaching enterprise that works with clients across the United States helping them to create lives they love. She has been interviewed by the Lexington Herald-Leader and local NBC and CBS affiliates as an expert in life coaching and mental health issues. Jennifer and her husband, Jeff, live in Lexington, Kentucky, with their two teenage children.

My Review:

As soon as I saw the title for this book I knew I had to read it. I am chronically too-nice. This book does a good job of showing the difference between good and nice and puts into perspective how a Christian should respond in any given situation. It reminds us that Jesus wasn’t always “nice” either. And, it lets us know it’s okay to say no, to be bold and to be real. This book is great in that it has quizzes and checklists and even study questions at the end of each chapter. According to the Are You a Christian Nice Girl? quiz, I have a severe case of nice girliosis;-)

I typically don’t like books of this type because I tend to feel like whatever the particular subject is, it just gets too over-discussed for me. It always feels like they are driving the same point over and over again and I get bored with it. I did start to feel that way with this one as well, but to it’s credit, it did try to emphasize different aspects of the same subject in each chapter, so there was always something fresh in each. Though, a few of the chapters I felt didn’t apply much to me, there were others that gave me much to think about. I definitely recommend this book to all the Christian Nice Girls out there like me!

You can purchase a copy of this book at Amazon.com. Also, because I’m super nice, Ha! I’m going to give away my review copy to one of you wonderful readers! If you are interested…comment below…and say something nice;-)

*Many thanks to Bethany House Publishing for the review copy.

2 thoughts on “No More Christian Nice Girl: Book Review

  1. Beth

    This sounds like a good book with information I could really use. Thank you for offering the giveaway.

  2. Dartha Lewis

    I am a Pastor’s wife, mother of three grown children, and grandma of six beautiful gradkids. I have always found it a challenge to recognize the difference between being good and being “nice” to everyone. I really need to read this book and learn how to use discernmentin each situation I find myself in on a daily basis. I have several frends that have read this book and some have suggested that I should read it too. Thanks for your review.

Leave a Reply

