Love on the Line by Deeanne Gist, A Book Review

Rural switchboard operator Georgie Gail is proud of her independence in a man’s world . . . which makes it twice as vexing when the telephone company sends a man to look over her shoulder. Dashing Luke Palmer is more than he appears though: He’s a Texas Ranger working undercover. But when his stakeout puts Georgie in peril, he realizes more than his job is on the line.

My Review: I’m normally a  big Deeanne Gist fan, but I was a bit disappointed with this one. If one could judge by how long it took me to finish it, then you would agree that this was not her best work.

Perhaps it’s just me, but the first half of the book was very slow-paced and a bit boring. I didn’t begin to care about the characters until about half way through, when thankfully the book got interesting enough for me to finish, and enjoy. I could not at all relate to  Georgie, the female main character and her odd bird obsession. To me, there was too much emphasis on the birds and the character’s interest in them seemed to be a bit much.

Once I got to the second half of the book, it started to get more interesting. The characters developed more and the plot had more of a steady focus.

So, not my favorite, but still an okay read, if you can make it through the first half.

 

*Many thanks to Bethany House for the review copy.

Leave a Reply

