Love in Disguise, A Book Review

Love in Disguise by Carol Cox

Jobless and down to her last dime, Ellie Moore hears about a position with the Pinkerton Detective Agency and believes it’s the perfect chance to put her acting skills and costumes to use. Disguised as both Lavinia Stewart, a middle-aged widow, and her dazzling niece Jessie Monroe, Ellie begins her investigation into the theft of silver from Arizona mines. When the thieves come after both characters, Ellie isn’t safe no matter which disguise she’s wearing. Should she give up and reveal her true identity? What will mine owner Steven do when he realizes the woman he’s falling in love with doesn’t really exist?

Native Arizonan Carol Cox has an abiding love for history, mystery, and romance. The author of more than 25 books, she believes in the power of story to convey spiritual truths. Carol lives with her husband and daughter in northern Arizona, where deer and antelope really do play–within view of the family’s front porch. Visit her website at www.authorcarolcox.com.

My Review: This is the first novel I’ve read by Carol Cox, and probably will NOT be my last. I would describe this as a historical mystery/romance novel. I love a good mystery, and though this one did not have me stumped, it did hold my interest. I found the story-line to be original in many ways, but also predictable in a few. I didn’t mind the predictability though, as the original aspects of the story and the development of characters kept me interested throughout the story. I love historical novels with strong female heroines, and I would definitely describe Ellie as such. Her bravery and determination were admirable, and the idea of her undercover playing two roles was a lot of fun to imagine as I read this book! I thought the story weaved in a good balance of Christian values, without overdoing it. All in all, an original, fun and enjoyable read! Recommended!

* I received a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers free of charge in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

