Love Comes Calling: A Book Review

9780764210365A girl with the best of intentions.
A heart set on Hollywood.
An empty pocketbook.

That’s all it takes for Ellis Eton to find herself working as a telephone operator for a look-alike friend. For Ellis, this job will provide not only acting practice but the funds to get her a start in the movies. She’s tired of always being a disappointment to her traditional Boston family, and though she can’t deny the way he makes her head spin, she knows she’s not good enough for Griffin Phillips, either. It’s simple: avoid Griff’s attentions, work, and get paid. But in typical Ellis fashion, her simple plan spirals out of control when she overhears a menacing phone call…with her very own Griff as the target.

With an endearing heroine as her lead, Siri Mitchell takes readers on a madcap tale of love and discovering one’s true desires!

I have to admit, I didn’t love this one. I am a big Siri Mitchell fan, but for some reason this one did not resonate with me as much as her previous offerings. I had a hard time becoming engaged with the characters and the plot was not as interesting to me as I would have hoped. The story did becoming more interesting as it went along, but by the end I was mostly glad to be finished reading it.  The part I enjoyed most is the moments when Ellis was pretending to be Janie while working her switchboard job. I found that part fun and interesting. And, I liked the idea of the book, that though she had the best of intentions, she rarely got things right. I did enjoy Griff’s perspective on her, that she was really good at being herself.

All in all, not my favorite Siri Mitchell offering, but she is still a great author worth checking out!

*I received this book free of charge from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

