Murder Freshly Baked, A Book Review

_233_380_Book.1608.coverWhen delicious baked goods become lethal, it’s time to find a killer.

Kindness is a virtue Meanness is a sin Better watch your bakery pies For poison I’ve slipped in

The Amish Artisan Village in Middlebury, Indiana, has been decorated with every color of balloon and flower for the Race for a Cure. As manager of the Village, Amber Bowman is thrilled to see the turnout-and relieved to have something to distract her from the “Poison Poet”-an individual who has been sending notes containing bad poetry to warn of poisoned baked goods.

Then Ryan Duvall crosses the finish line of the race-and falls down dead, murdered in broad daylight. But who did it? And why? The police suspect Preston Johnston, but Amber refuses to believe her employee could do such a thing.

Amber once again looks to her young Amish friend Hannah Troyer to help her find the killer-and to determine if it’s the same person leaving the cryptic poems and pies. Can they help the police before the Poison Poet strikes again? Both Amber and Hannah will need to draw on their faith as they fight to preserve the peaceful community they’ve built at the Amish Artisan Village.

My Review: This is the third installment in Vannetta Chapman’s Amish Village Mystery series. What I love about this series is that it is such a unique combination. A perfect blend of Amish fiction and cozy mystery.

The main characters again unwittingly find themselves in the role of amateur sleuths, as another murder has taken place in the peaceful village. I enjoyed the style in which this book was written. It started at the end of the story, and then took us back to the beginning to watch it unfold. I cringed at the thought of poison in any delicious pie, but I loved the creativity behind the story idea!  In this third novel, I really felt like the characters have flourished and become more engaging and endearing. I am definitely enjoying watching as their stories unfold and their lives continue to intertwine. I love the close bond that has developed between the group of main characters. Collectively, they make for an unlikely pairing, but they have become a tight knit group. The fact that they have created their own little family amongst themselves is heartwarming and dear. They are a great reminder that family isn’t always blood, it’s those who love you no matter what and accept you for who you are.

The mystery aspect of the story kept me interested and guessing. I had my suspicions as to “who-dun-it”, but I still enjoyed reading the outcome as it was revealed. I loved that this book highlighted some very real life issues, and generated awareness of them. I also love the inclusion of a new canine character! I hope Mocha stays at the forefront of future novels in this series.

I had a few moments where my interest waivered, mainly involving the flashback scenes, but I understand what the author was attempting to achieve with them, so it may have been my fault for being less absorbed in those parts.

All in all, a solid continuation of a very enjoyable series.

* I received a copy of this book free of charge in exchange for my honest review by BookLook Bloggers. 

About the Author

Vannetta Chapman is author of the best-selling novel A Simple Amish Christmas. She has published over one hundred articles in Christian family magazines, receiving over two dozen awards from Romance Writers of America chapter groups. In 2012 she was awarded a Carol Award for Falling to Pieces. She discovered her love for the Amish while researching her grandfather’s birthplace of Albion, Pennsylvania. Visit Vannetta’s webiste: www.vannettachapman.com Twitter: @VannettaChapman Facebook: VannettaChapmanBooks

Leave a Reply

