Eleanor by Jason Gurley: A Book Review

My Review: When I first decided this book looked interesting, I didn’t know a lot about it. I read a little bit of the description, but I stopped halfway through. I don’t like spoilers, and even some things in a book’s description can be too much foreknowledge for me.

So, I was really surprised when about a third of the way through, this book took a unexpected turn. What I thought was more of a straightforward (though, deeply moving) story, turned out to have quite a bit of fantasy mixed in. It took me a little bit to process this and switch my mind over to the unexpected genre, but when I did, I was captivated by this story.

This is a beautifully written, lyrical book. It is so unique in it’s style that I can hardly think to compare it to anything I’ve ever read. I think what I loved most about this book is that the author wasn’t afraid to present us with raw, real emotions. This book is full of dark sentiments like regret and resentment, but it’s also strong on love.  The characters in this book all have things in their past that haunt them, and they all have to live with circumstances that have been created out of the brokenness of their lives and the lives of those before them.

There isn’t a lot of happiness to be found in this book. It’s definitely not a light read. You have characters in this book that have been so damaged by life. The scene is grim and it often feels hopeless, but there is a glimmer of hope that shines through and it is beautiful to watch it unfold.

There were parts of this book that confused me, but in the end, it was all explained well. I don’t think this book would be for everyone, but it is truly well done and I’m glad to have read it.

*I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books  free of charge in exchange for my honest review.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

JASON GURLEY is the author of Greatfall, The Man Who Ended the World, and the fiction collection Deep Breath Hold Tight, among other works. His stories have appeared in the anthologies Loosed Upon the World and Help Fund My Robot Army!!! He was raised in Alaska and Texas, and now lives and writes in Portland, Oregon.
Leave a Reply

