July Reading Round-Up!

Is it August already? This summer is flying by and I feel like as hard as I try, I can never get enough reading time! We had our anniversary trip this month, and I did get the opportunity to enjoy some quiet reading time on the beautiful and serene back porch of our vacation tree-house. I sure wish I was back there right now. Life can be so busy and chaotic, and vacations, especially those in secluded surroundings always remind me that we (I) need to take more time for quiet, stillness and reading!

IMG_9271

See? Doesn’t that look all sorts of serene? Sigh. 🙂

Anyway…back to my month of reading. I’ve actually not kept track of how many books I’ve read this month, though I’m really hoping it was more than FIVE! I’m going to take a look right now…

Drum roll please…..

Well, it’s higher than five, by one! I’ll take that though! So, for the month of July I read 6 books. They are as follows:

So…let’s see here, the first three reads of the month were actually selections that were leftover from last month’s “Read a debut novel” challenge. (Yeah, I went a little overboard selecting debuts!) A Girl Like You, Keep Me Posted and The Nest were all from new authors. Of those three, A Girl Like You was my favorite. This is fortunate for me, because as far as I know, it’s the only one of the three that is the beginning of a new series! The other two were okay, with Keep Me Posted being a bit better than The Nest. The Wolf Road was actually my one and only review book of the month. I had mixed feelings on it, and my review can be found HERE. Pretty Baby was my spontaneous read this month. I picked it up at the last second on one of our many trips to the library. I’m glad I did, because I enjoyed it a lot. I could criticize a few things here and there, but for the most part, it was a solid read. And, actually, I’m currently reading another book by the same author! And, last but not least, I have to admit I came very close to forgetting to do my monthly Reading Challenge for July. (That’s what vacation will do to you!) Fortunately, the challenge for this month was to read a book in a genre you’ve never read before. This was a tough one to figure out, until discussing it with my graphic-novel-lovin’ husband! I had never read a graphic novel and it was the perfect choice for accomplishing my goal at the last moment of the month! And, for the record, I really enjoyed it. More than I expected. It helped that it was a Walking Dead graphic novel, but I have to say that I was really impressed with the art and detail in it. I may have to revisit the graphic novel genre again someday!

In closing (I know I’m rambly tonight!) my total books read for the year is 37 and I am at 49% of my goal for the year. Yeah, I know, I’m still behind! That being said, I’m off to read! G’night all!

Leave a Reply

