Uninvited by Lysa Terkeurst: A Book Review

_140_245_Book.1988.coverThe enemy wants us to feel rejected . . . left out, lonely, and less than. When we allow him to speak lies through our rejection, he pickpockets our purpose. Cripples our courage. Dismantles our dreams. And blinds us to the beauty of Christ’s powerful love.

In Uninvited, Lysa shares her own deeply personal experiences with rejection—from the incredibly painful childhood abandonment by her father to the perceived judgment of the perfectly toned woman one elliptical over.

With biblical depth, gut-honest vulnerability, and refreshing wit, Lysa helps readers: • Release the desire to fall apart or control the actions of others by embracing God-honoring ways to process their hurt. • Know exactly what to pray for the next ten days to steady their soul and restore their confidence. • Overcome the two core fears that feed our insecurities by understanding the secret of belonging. • Stop feeling left out and start believing that “set apart” does not mean “set aside.” • End the cycle of perceived rejection by refusing to turn a small incident into a full blown issue.

My Review: I cannot recommend this book enough! This was my first experience reading a book by Lysa Terkeurst, and I was so excited for the opportunity because I had heard a lot of great things about her and her writing. And, every single one of those great things are true!

This is a very personal book. This is a book about our hearts and the things that have come along to hurt and injure us. Things like rejection, loneliness and feelings of inferiority. I am sure every single person in the world has experienced these things, but yet when we do, it feels like we are the only person in the world who does.

This book was very, very timely for me. I consistently struggle with feeling unaccepted, left out, different and just like I don’t belong. However, when I picked up this book to read, it was right after a particularly low couple of days for me socially and this book really spoke to my heart and literally pulled me out of the little pool of self-pity I was determined to swim in.

There aren’t a lot of books that I have to stop and jot down a thought or paragraph from, but this book had several passages that really spoke to me and I found myself typing them out so that I can remember and meditate on them in the future.

Things like:

I don’t want to keep being a slave to my runaway emotions and assumptions. I don’t want my days to be dictated by the moods of other people. And I really don’t want the rejections of my past feeding my propensity to feel rejected today.

No soul can soar to the place of living loved when it’s a performance-based endeavor. Living loved is sourced in your quiet daily surrender to the One who made you.

How dangerous it is when our souls are gasping for God but we’re too distracted flirting with the world to notice. Flirting will give you brief surges of fun feelings but will never really pull you in and hold you close. Indeed, the world entices your flesh but never embraces your soul. All the while, the only love caring enough to embrace us and complete enough to fill us, waits.

How it must break his heart when we walk around so desperate for a love He waits to give us each and every day.

Proximity and activity don’t always equal connectivity.

We must respect ourselves enough to break the pattern of placing unrealistic expectations on others. After all, people will not respect us more than we respect ourselves.

The devil wants me to fill my emptiness with an unhealthy dependence on the acceptance of others. Because then he can get me so focused on the shallow opinions of others I get completely distracted from deepening my relationship with Christ.

I love reading, and I read mostly for enjoyment, occasionally taking away some interesting tidbit or thought, but this book offered me so much more. I learned and grew from reading this book. I won’t say that I’m no longer insecure or that I will never feel the effects of rejection again, but I am more focused now on living loved by Him. And, I feel less alone because I believe that Lysa writes from a place of understanding and it helps me realize that I’m not the only one who often feels Uninvited.

*I received a copy of this book free of charge from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

