October Reading Round-Up!

I can hardly believe it’s the end of October/beginning of November already! Where has this year gone?

I have had a really good month of reading. I feel as though I read a good amount, but more importantly, I had some really enjoyable reading moments this month! And, isn’t enjoyment and satisfaction in reading the ultimate goal? For me it is.

I am quite excited to announce that I completed 8 books in October! I do believe that’s a record for this year, and it also gives me hope for November and December. As the year draws to a close, I am more aware than ever of my yearly goal and just how far away from it I still am! I currently need to read 18 more books to reach my goal of 75 for the year. That works out to 9 in November and 9 in December. I can do that, right? RIGHT?

Only one book in my October pile was a review book, and that was Newton & Polly: A Novel of Amazing Grace by Jody Hedlund. (Read my review HERE) Two of my selections for this month were works of non-fiction. Those being Intuitive Eating: A Revolutionary Program That Works by Evelyn Tribole and The Power of the Other by Henry Cloud. These two books were completely different subjects, but both were of current interest to me. Perhaps sometime when I’m not busy reading or documenting what I’ve read, I will blog on these subjects. It’s been a while since I’ve blogged about specific topics of interest. I often miss that.

One book I read this month was A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman. This one was suggested to me by several sources and I could not ignore the praises I heard regarding it. I can’t say I loved it as much as some others did, but I rather enjoyed it and found it to be refreshingly different, which I always admire. My favorite thing about this book was the theme that family is truly who you choose.

Two others I read this month were on my list because I had heard about them somewhere. These two books: Only Daughter by Anna Snoekstra and The Woman in Cabin Ten by Ruth Ware were really, really good. They were the kind of gripping, page-turning, suspenseful novels that truly capture the heart of why I love reading.

The book I chose for my Monthly Reading Challenge was The Gilded Cage by Lucinda Gray. I remember browsing the shelves at the library, in search of something that might be interesting, when I was caught by the cover of this book. Conveniently, the challenge for October was to read a book chosen based on it’s cover. Check and check. This one started off unsure for me, but ended up being a very solid mystery, worthy of it’s cover.

My last selection for this month was Unashamed: Rahab by Francine Rivers. This was a book that has been on my shelf and is the second in a series of biblical fiction. I read the first installment a few months ago, and because I had about a day left in the month, and this was a short read, I found it an opportune time to continue the series. As usual, I found this work of biblical fiction to be insighful, bringing more to life, women who I’ve read about many times. It’s always nice to glean a better, more in depth understanding of what some of these biblical women may have been like.

So, 2 months left in 2016, 18 books left in my pile…I can manage that, right? All while fulfilling the hustle and bustle of the season? Absolutely!

Here we go!

Leave a Reply

