December Reading Round-Up & Year-End Recap!

It’s a new year, and here I am still winding down last year! I’m going to do my December Round-Up, followed by a quick re-cap for the year. I honestly don’t know if I’m going to continue doing my reading round-ups. Sometimes it feels like a unnecessary pressure and deadline, and I’m trying to learn to not put added pressure on myself.

That being said, I always like to finish what I start, so here goes!

I only read 5 books in December, but that was all I needed to complete my yearly goal! I made it to 75 by the skin of my teeth, but I’m proud to have accomplished that! December is such a busy month and this year in-particular, the holidays seemed extra busy and stressful.

Below you will find the 5 books I read in December:

As you can see, these were all Christmas related books. I think my favorite was the last I read, and it was also after Christmas. A Cliche Christmas I grabbed at the library, just to finish my quota. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. I also enjoyed The Mistletoe Inn a lot. The others were okay as well, but The Fruitcake Murders was the most disappointing read for me. I also noticed a lot of typos in it, so that bothered me.

And, I just realized looking through my list that I failed to complete my Monthly Reading Challenge!  I think I just took for granted that one of my chosen reads was a book published in 2016, and I just realized that I was mistaken! So…I went through an entire year of completing challenges, only to fail at the end? Wow. That makes me feel really bad. But…as it seems to be every year, one of my goals is to realize that I’m not perfect and to accept my flaws, mistakes and failings. So, here you go. Practice for that!

I did make my goal of 75 books and I don’t think that’s anything to downplay. I am proud of that, but I just hate failing!

Anyway…I’m going to cheat a bit on my 2016 recap. Since Goodreads does such a good job of it, I’m going to let them tell you about my year! I did have to screenshot all of these and send them to myself, which in retrospect might have been harder than trying to summarize it myself. Oh well!

I realize I could have cropped those images better, for that I apologize! To anyone who has followed my reading journey this year, thank you! I remain undecided as to how I will document my reading for 2017, but my reading goal remains the same: 75 books. Beyond that, I’m not sure that I will participate in any challenges.

Happy New Year, my bookish friends!!

*Also, I may be back soon with a non-book related post. I’m feeling a deep, profound life goals post coming on…but we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

