It Started With Goodbye by Christina June: A Book Review

Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is bracing for the worst summer of her life. After being falsely accused of a crime, she’s stuck under stepmother-imposed house arrest and her BFF’s gone ghost. Tatum fills her newfound free time with community service by day and working at her covert graphic design business at night, which includes trading emails with a cute cello-playing client. If Tatum is reading his emails right, her virtual Prince Charming is funny, smart, and talented—and he seems to think the same about her. Too bad he’s spending his summer across the ocean in Ireland…not that Tatum would be allowed to go on a date anyway.

But over the course of the summer, Tatum will learn that sometimes going after what you want means breaking all the rules. And when Tatum discovers she’s not the only one in the house keeping secrets, she finds she has the chance to make amends with her family and friends. Equipped with a new perspective, and assisted by her feisty step-abuela-slash-fairy-godmother, Tatum is ready to start fresh and maybe even get her happy ending along the way. A modern play on the Cinderella story arc, Christina June’s IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and Jennifer E. Smith.

My Review: This is the perfect summer read! I was first drawn to this book because it has such a pretty, eye-catching cover and an intriguing title. I also love that it is a YA book. The plot is a very modern day Cinderella story, which I found to be quite  fun to read.

The characters are very likable and the story is well-balanced. This story is about friendship and romance and it’s about following your dreams, learning something new and rethinking what you thought you knew. I love that Tatum has a lot of spirit and determination, and I love that she isn’t afraid to consider that she might be wrong about something or someone. I enjoyed reading the correspondence she had with other characters via email, as well as the conversations she had verbally. There is just something about this character that I really found refreshing.

This is such a sweet story that leaves an impression and a smile on the face of the reader.

*I received a copy of this book from BookLook Bloggers free of charge in exchange for my honest review.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s