First Impressions by Debra White Smith: A Book Review

About

In an attempt to get to know the people of London, Texas–the small town that lawyer Eddi Boswick now calls home–she tries out for a local theater group’s production of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. She’s thrilled to get the role of lively Elizabeth Bennet . . . until she meets the arrogant–and eligible–rancher playing her leading man.

Dave Davidson chose London, Texas, as the perfect place to live under the radar. Here, no one knows his past, and he can live a quiet, peaceful life with his elderly aunt, who also happens to own the local theater. Dave doesn’t even try out for the play, but suddenly he is thrust into the role of Mr. Darcy and forced to spend the entire summer with Eddi, who clearly despises him.

Sparks fly every time Eddi and Dave meet, whether on the stage or off. But when Eddi discovers Dave’s secret, she has to admit there might be more to him than she thought. Maybe even enough to change her mind . . . and win her heart.

My Review: I was worried when I started this book that keeping up with the characters would be confusing. The front of the book has a list of characters and what Pride & Prejudice character they were based on. I love Pride & Prejudice, but it’s been a while since I’ve read it and I didn’t want to stress over matching the characters in this book with the ones from Pride & Prejudice. So, instead of comparing, I simply read this book as it’s own and quickly fell into the story. Equating the characters to Pride & Prejudice did happen naturally in my brain as I got to know them, but it wasn’t something I focused on.

The story was sweet and the characters very likable. I read this book rather quickly, so it was fast-paced and held my attention well. Definitely a sweet story for fans of Pride & Prejudice and even those who are not familiar with Jane Austen’s work.

*I received a copy of this book free of charge from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s